First Tech Founders of the Year crowned

The winners of the first BMW i UK Tech Founder Awards were revealed at a fantastic celebration of entrepreneurial spirit in the tech industry in London today (Tuesday).

The BMW i UK Tech Founder Awards celebrates and champions the entrepreneurial journeys of those who create, disrupt and innovate within the UK’s rapidly changing tech landscape.

Ben Jeffries, the founder of Influencer, took the top award, being crowned the UK Tech Founder of the Year for 2018. Ben launched his influencer marketing company in 2016 with business partner and social media star, Caspar Lee, and has since established both himself and the company as leading figures in the industry.

Francesca James, founder of the BMW i UK Tech Founder Awards, said: “Even though Ben only started the company a few years ago, what he’s done in that time is nothing short of tremendous. He’s thoroughly deserving of being the first ever UK Tech Founder of the Year, and we can’t wait to see what he does next with Influencer.”

Winners were revealed in 13 other categories across the ceremony, hosted by The Gadget Show’s Georgie Barrat, from a range of tech industries, including AgTech, HealthTech and Internet of Things.

Francesca added: “As a first year Awards programme, we have been blown away by both the number and quality of applications from across a broad spectrum of niches. It is always an achievement in itself to be named a finalist in any Awards, perhaps more so within the thriving tech space. But special congratulations go to our winners.”

Full list of winners:

AgTech Founder of the Year | Charlie Guy, Jack Farmer & Ben Crowther – LettUs Grow
Blockchain Founder of the Year | Irina Albita & Maria Tanjala – Big Couch
CleanTech Founder of the Year | Simon Bransfield-Garth – Azuri Technologies
Disruptor of the Year | Ed Bussey – Quill
EdTech Founder of the Year | Gareth Davies & Simon Potter – Kwiziq
FinTech Founder of the Year | Kerim Derhalli – Invstr
FoodTech Founder of the Year | Charlie Guy, Jack Farmer & Ben Crowther – LettUs Grow
HealthTech Founder of the Year | Christopher Weeks & Alastair Byrne – Bounce
Internet of Things Founder of the Year | Andrew Nowell – PitPat
MADTech Founder of the Year | Adam Hildreth – Crisp
PropTech Founder of the Year | Daniel Hegarty – Habito
RegTech Founder of the Year | Mark Larkin – Vitaccess
Retail & E-CommerceTech Founder of the Year | Markus Stripf, Tim Allen & Simon O’Regan – Spoon Guru
UK Tech Founder of the Year | Ben Jeffries – Influencer